My Greek Salad

Today, being Wednesday, it is the day when the laiki comes to my neighborhood. I have purchased a small trolley to put my purchases in, which makes me feel a hundred years old, but my arms appreciate not having to carry all the produce back to our house.

Cantaloupes arrived a few weeks ago, but now you can definitly see that they have been pushed aside by their much larger cousin – the watermelon – or in Greek karpouzi. Perfect as a snack, a thirst quencher and my favorite: in my version of a Greek salad. The spicy arugula and the freshness of the cucumber and watermelon works wonders with the tangy feta. The dill adds a summer taste that puts a bit of Sweden into Greece.

Ingredients (makes a salad for 2 people):

  • 3-4 cups wild arugula, rinsed, dried and roughly chopped.
  • 1 cup cucumber, peel shaved (unless organic) and seeds removed.
  • 3 oz of good quality feta cheese, crumbled.
  • 1.5 cups watermelon, seeded and cut into large dice or baton
  • 1 tablespoon of Greek extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon of dill, finely chopped
  • black pepper, to taste

 

 

Leave a Reply

